SUSTAINABILITY

WOMEN EMPOWERMENT PROJECT

25% of the farmers Emmanuel works with at Fugi Washing Station are women. Emmanuel values ​​their work, reliability and their high quality standards. However, as there are currently few incentive programs for farmers to improve the quality of their cherries and the equity is too low to invest in agricultural equipment themselves, the long-term increase in quality is not assured.

In order to emphasize the commitment of these women, to strengthen their work and to motivate them to continue to work in a quality-conscious manner, the "Female Empowerment" project was launched. The project aims to select 25-30 female farmers whose coffees will be used for Intango processing at the Fugi Washing Station. These women are to receive trainings in good agricultural practices and will get the chance to decide as a group on a fund that they can use for activities or equipment.

 

In this way, the women are trained as role models in their communities, they are enabled to earn a higher income and are given the opportunity to make their own investments for their farms. With each bag of our Intango Anaerobics (P10301 & P10302) sold, 1 € / kg goes directly to the "Female Empowerment" project.

TRANSFORMING THE ENVIRONMENT

One of the biggest environmental challenges at Fugi Washing Station is that farmers use the unprocessed cherry pulp as fertilizer. Due to the high chemical composition of coffee pulp (presence of bacteria, fungi and yeast & acidic pH level) the direct application of fresh cherry pulp on farms has negative impacts on soil organisms and the surrounding environment. This leads to declining soil nutrition, resulting in decreased productivity and quality. In addition, the poor waste management of coffee pulp can disrupt the cleanliness of the process at washing station level.

 

Tackling this challenge became a priority for both us and Emmanuel, owner of Fugi WS, and led us to the decision to set up the first organic vermicompost facility at Fugi Washing Station. A process including earthworms, allowing a twice as fast decomposition compared to traditional mineral fertilizer. Vermicomposting is a great environmental practice as it allows the return of organic matter to the soil without harming the environment.

 

Each bag sold of our Fugi Grade A1 (P10310) will raise a total of 1€/kg for the "Transforming the Environment" project. 50% of the premium (0.50 €/kg) will be financed by the buyers, the other half by Touton Specialties.

QUALITY ENHANCEMENT PROJECT

In order to tackle one of the biggest qualitative challenges at Fugi Washing Station, we have launched the "Quality Enhancement" project. With this project, we want to enable the construction of six covered drying shelves at Fugi WS, thus ensuring a slow and rain & wind-independent drying of the beans.

 

The current infrastructure at Fugi Washing Station complicates uniform drying of the beans, which affects the productivity and quality of the beans. For example, a potato defect often occurs as a result of improper drying. In addition, the current drying beds have to be renewed frequently because the quality of the materials is insufficient.

 

Each bag sold of our Baho Blend, a total of 1.25 € / kg goes directly to the "Quality Enhancement" project. € 0.5 / kg will be funded by the buyers, the remainder from Touton Specialties.

Rainforest Alliance Certified™ &

UTZ Certified

Rainforest.png
CERT_1024x700_1.png

Rainforest Alliance Certified™ and UTZ Certified (organisations merged since January 2018) address the environmental, social and economic challenges faced by farmers and their communities. The Rainforest Alliance Certified™ seal and UTZ Certified logo shows consumers that the coffee they are buying was produced on farms that help support the rights and well-being of farm workers, the preservation of natural resources and the protection of wildlife and the environment.

 

In January 2020, the new combined organisation will create a single agriculture certification standard, simplify the certification process, and continue to improve livelihoods for farmers and forest communities.

Touton Specialties GmbH

Große Bleichen 8

20354 Hamburg

phone: +49 (0) 40 334 693 100

fax: +49 (0) 40 334 693 199

  • Facebook - Weiß, Kreis,
  • LinkedIn - Weiß, Kreis,
  • Instagram - Weiß Kreis

NACHHALTIGKEIT

WOMEN EMPOWERMENT PROJEKT

25% der Farmer, mit denen Emmanuel auf der Fugi Washing Station zusammenarbeitet, sind Frauen. Emmanuel schätzt ihre Arbeit, die Zuverlässigkeit und ihren hohen Qualitätsanspruch sehr. Da es derzeit jedoch wenige Anreizprogramme für Farmer gibt, die Qualität ihrer Kirschen zu verbessern sowie das Eigenkapital zu gering ist, um selbst in landwirtschaftliche Ausstattung zu investieren, ist die langfristige Steigerung der Qualität nicht gesichert.

Um den Einsatz dieser Frauen in den Vordergrund zu stellen, sie in ihrer Arbeit zu stärken und sie zu motivieren, weiterhin qualitätsbewusst zu arbeiten wurde das „Female Empowerment“ Projekt ins Leben gerufen. Das Projekt zielt darauf ab, 25-30 weibliche Farmer auszuwählen, dessen Kaffees für die Intango-Aufbereitung auf der Fugi Washing Station verwendet werden. Diese Frauen sollen Trainings in landwirtschaftlichen Praktiken erhalten und dürfen als Gruppe über einen Fond entscheiden, den sie für Aktivitäten oder Equipment einsetzen können. So werden die Frauen als Vorbilder in ihren Communities ausgebildet, ihnen ein höheres Einkommen ermöglicht und ihnen die Chance gegeben, eigene Investitionen für ihre Farmen zu tätigen. Mit jedem verkauften Sack unserer Intango Anaerobics (P10301 & P10302) geht 1 €/kg direkt an das „Female Empowerment“ Projekt.

TRANSFORMING THE ENVIRONMENT

Eine der größten ökologischen Herausforderungen auf der Fugi WS besteht darin, dass Farmer die unverarbeitete Pulpe der Kirschen als Düngemittel verwenden. Aufgrund der hohen chemischen Bestandteile der Kaffeepulpe (Bakterien, Pilze, Hefe & hoher pH-Wert) wirkt sich die Verwendung auf den Farmen negativ auf die Bodenorganismen aus und zerstört die natürlichen Ressourcen. Darüber hinaus kann die schlechte Abfallbehandlung von Kaffeepulpe die Hygiene der Prozesse auf Washing Station-Ebene beeinträchtigen.

 

Diese Herausforderung anzugehen wurde sowohl für uns als auch für Emmanuel, Inhaber der Fugi WS, zur Priorität und führte zu dem Entschluss, die erste biologische Vermicompost-Anlage auf der Fugi WS einzurichten. Ein Prozess, bei dem Regenwürmer in den Abbau der Kaffeepulpe einbezogen werden und im Vergleich zum traditionellen, mineralischen Dünger die Hälfte der Zeit benötigt. Vermicomposting ist eine gute ökologische Praxis, da es die Rückführung organischer Stoffe in den Boden ermöglicht, ohne die Umwelt zu beeinträchtigen.

 

Von jedem verkauften Sack unseres Fugi Grade A1 (P10310) geht insgesamt 1 €/kg an das „Transforming the Environment”- Projekt. 50% der Prämie (0,50 €/ kg) werden von den Käufern finanziert, die andere Hälfte von Touton Specialties.

QUALITY ENHANCEMENT

Um eine der größten qualitativen Herausforderungen der Fugi Washing Station anzugehen haben wir das „Quality Enhancement“ Projekt in die Wege geleitet. Mit diesem Projekt möchten wir den Bau von sechs überdachten Trocknungsanlagen auf der Fugi WS ermöglichen und damit eine langsame, sowie regen- und windunabhängige Trocknung der Bohnen gewährleisten.

 

Durch die derzeitige Infrastruktur auf der Fugi Washing Station wird eine gleichmäßige Trocknung der Bohnen erschwert, was sich auf die Produktivität und Qualität der Bohnen auswirkt. Beispielsweise tritt ein Kartoffeldefekt häufig als Folge einer falschen Trocknung auf. Außerdem müssen die Trockenbetten derzeit häufig erneuert werden, da die Qualität der Materialien unzureichend ist.

 

Von jedem verkauften Sack unseres Baho Blends geht insgesamt 1.25€/kg direkt an das „Quality Enhancement”- Projekt. 0,5€/kg werden von den Käufern finanziert, der restliche Betrag von Touton Specialties.

Rainforest Alliance Certified™ &

UTZ Certified

Rainforest.png
CERT_1024x700_1.png

Rainforest Alliance Certified™ und UTZ Certified (Zusammenschluss der Organisationen im Januar 2018) befassen sich mit den ökologischen, sozialen und wirtschaftlichen Herausforderungen, denen Landwirte und ihre Gemeinschaften gegenüberstehen. Das Rainforest Alliance Certified ™ -Siegel und das UTZ Certified-Logo zeigen den Verbrauchern, dass der Kaffee, den sie kaufen, auf Farmen hergestellt wurde, die dazu beitragen, die Rechte und das Wohlbefinden von Landwirten, den Erhalt der natürlichen Ressourcen und den Schutz der Wildtiere und der Umwelt zu unterstützen.

Im Januar 2020 wird die neue kombinierte Organisation einen einheitlichen landwirtschaftlichen Zertifizierungsstandard schaffen, den Zertifizierungsprozess vereinfachen und die Lebensgrundlagen für Landwirte und Waldgemeinschaften weiter verbessern.

Touton Specialties GmbH

Große Bleichen 8

20354 Hamburg

phone: +49 (0) 40 334 693 100

fax: +49 (0) 40 334 693 199

  • Facebook - Weiß, Kreis,
  • LinkedIn - Weiß, Kreis,
  • Instagram - Weiß Kreis