COSTA RICA

Costa Rica owes its infrastructure and even many cultural monuments to coffee cultivation. From 1846 to 1890, coffee was the only export good of the Central American country. Wet processing was introduced at this time and by the beginning of the 20th century, 200 Washing Stations were already in operation. With the cultivation of coffee, the growing population also spread to the rural regions of the country. Farmers were looking for new agricultural land that was also suitable for growing coffee and reached geographic boundaries. 

In general, coffee is mostly grown by small farmers who sell their coffee cherries to washing stations for further processing. However, over the last couple of years, many small farmers built their own Micromills and work directly with exporters. In the harvest year 2017/18, a total of 1.6 million 60kg bags of green coffee were produced in Costa Rica, out of which more than 60% were exported.

Coffee from the Tarrazú region has long stood for quality and convinces with its intense body with hints of lime and tangerine. In this growing area the highest coffee farms can be found. Central Valley looks back on the longest tradition in coffee growing. The most densely populated region, where the capital San José is located, stands for chocolaty coffees with fruity notes and honey aromas. The West Valley is home to some of Costa Rica's most complex coffees, which, in addition to their notes of chocolate, also convince with orange, peach, honey and vanilla. 

 

The growing real estate industry in Costa Rica is making coffee cultivation more and more scarce. As a result, over the past 20 years, the country's output has fallen by more than half. We see the future of coffee from Costa Rica in the specialty coffee sector. Already, Costa Rica is a rolemodel in terms of cultivation and processing methods for many countries.

Both Costa Rica and Guatemala are struggling with the consequences of climate change. Although rising temperatures allow the cultivation of coffee in higher growing areas, the low-lying areas are increasingly struggling with rust.

 

New rust-resistant varieties were introduced to tackle the problem. In the Lowlands, more and more crossings with the variety Villa Sarchi and Catimor (Sarchimor) are being carried out in order to get a grip on the rust disease in the long term.

Altitude

600m - 1900m

Harvest time

August - February

Varieties

Bourbon, Catuaí, Caturra, SL28

Soil type

Volcanic soil

Growing regions

Central Valley, West Valley, Tarrazú, Tres Rios,

Orosi, Brunca, Turrialba, Guanacaste

Climate

Tropical climate with hot temperatures,

high humidity and high precipitation

OUR COFFEES

FROM COSTA RICA

CROP 2019

Touton Specialties GmbH

Große Bleichen 8

20354 Hamburg

phone: +49 (0) 40 334 693 100

fax: +49 (0) 40 334 693 199

  • Facebook - Weiß, Kreis,
  • LinkedIn - Weiß, Kreis,
  • Instagram - Weiß Kreis

COSTA RICA

Costa Rica verdankt seine Infrastruktur und sogar viele kulturelle Denkmäler dem Kaffeeanbau. Von 1846 bis 1890 exportierte das zentralamerikanische Land ausschließlich Kaffee. Die Nassaufbereitung wurde in dieser Zeit eingeführt und Anfang des 20. Jahrhundert waren bereits 200 Washing Stations in Betrieb. Mit dem Kaffeeanbau breitete sich auch die wachsende Bevölkerung in die ländlichen Regionen des Landes aus. Farmer machten sich auf die Suche nach neuen landwirtschaftlichen Flächen, die gleichzeitig für den Kaffeeanbau geeignet waren und stießen an geografische Grenzen

Allgemein wird Kaffee meist von Kleinfarmern angebaut, die ihre Kaffeekirschen an Washing Stations zur weiteren Aufbereitung verkaufen. Mittlerweile gibt es auch viele Kleinfarmer, die sich eigene Micromills aufgebaut haben und mit Exporteuren zusammenarbeiten. Im Erntejahr 2017/18 wurden in Costa Rica insgesamt 1,6 Millionen 60kg Säcke Rohkaffee produziert, wovon mehr als 60% ins Ausland exportiert wurden. 

Kaffee aus der Region Tarrazú steht seit langem für Qualität und überzeugt durch seinen intensiven Körper mit Noten von Limette und Mandarine. In diesem Anbaugebiet lassen sich die höchstgelegenen Kaffeefarmen finden. Das Central Valley blickt auf die längste Tradition im Kaffeeanbau zurück. Die am dichtesten bevölkerte Region, in der auch die Hauptstadt San José liegt, steht für schokoladige Kaffees mit fruchtigen Noten und Honig Aromen. Im West Valley entstehen einige der komplexesten Kaffees Costa Ricas, die neben ihren Noten von Schokolade auch mit Orange, Pfirsich, Honig und Vanille überzeugen.

Durch eine wachsende Immobilienbranche in Costa Rica werden Kaffeeanbauflächen immer knapper. Dies hat zur Folge, dass die Produktion des Landes über die letzten 20 Jahre um mehr als die Hälfte gesunken ist.

Wir sehen die Zukunft von Costa Rica langfristig im reinen Spezialitätenkaffee Bereich. Bereits jetzt schauen sich viele Länder Anbau- und Aufbereitungsmethoden von Costa Rica ab.

 

Sowohl Costa Rica als auch Guatemala haben schwer mit den Folgen des Klimawandels zu kämpfen. Zwar ermöglichen die steigenden Temperaturen den Anbau von Kaffee in höher gelegenen Anbauregionen, jedoch haben die niedrigen gelegenen Gebiete immer stärker mit Rostbefall zu kämpfen.

Mit neuen rostresistenten Varietäten wird gegen das Problem angegangen. In den Lowlands werden immer mehr Kreuzungen mit der Varietät Villa Sarchi und Catimor (Sarchimor) durchgeführt um den Rostbefall langfristig in den Griff zu bekommen. 

Anbauhöhe

600m - 2000m​

Erntezeit

August - Februar

Varietäten

Bekannt für die Vielfalt an Varietäten. U.a. Bourbon, Catuaí, Caturra, SL28, Geisha etc.

Bodenverhältnisse

Vulkanboden

Anbauregionen

Central Valley, West Valley, Tarrazú, Tres Rios,

Orosi, Brunca, Turrialba, Guanacaste

Klima

Tropisches Klima mit ganzjährig heißen Temperaturen, hoher Luftfeuchtigkeit sowie hoher Niederschlag

UNSERE KAFFEES

AUS COSTA RICA

CROP 2019

Touton Specialties GmbH

Große Bleichen 8

20354 Hamburg

phone: +49 (0) 40 334 693 100

fax: +49 (0) 40 334 693 199

  • Facebook - Weiß, Kreis,
  • LinkedIn - Weiß, Kreis,
  • Instagram - Weiß Kreis