BRAZIL

In 1727, coffee was said to have arrived in Brazil, the first exports date back to around 1820. At that time, Brazil was responsible for 30 percent of the world’s coffee production. However, the following years were marked by a global economic crisis, which hit the country particularly hard. Coffee prices dipped dramatically forcing the burning of 78 million coffee bags. 

 

Brazil has been dominating the coffee market for 150 years now. As the largest coffee producer in the world, Brazil produces about one third of the world's total production. Here, coffee is usually grown on large plantations, which is unique in South and Central America. 

In general, Brazil is considered the most advanced and industrialised agricultural country in the world.

 

Traceability is well established in Brazil – farm level information is normal practice for high-quality coffees. In the crop year 2018/19 a total of 60 million 60kg bags of green coffee were produced in Brazil. Nearly 38.5 million bags were exported and the remainder were domestically consumed.

The most important growing regions are in the federal states of Minas Gerais, Espirito Santo and Sao Paulo. Minas Gerais, which is almost the size of France, is the largest coffee region. From the south, Sul de Minas, the growing regions are increasingly migrating to the north, where, for example, for many years the Cerrado region has stood for high quality green coffees.

Altitude

500m - 1200m

Harvest time

May - September

Varieties

Mundo Novo, Catuaí, Caturra​, Tupi, Rubi,

Bourbon, Yellow Bourbon

Soil type

Clay soil

Growing regions

Cerrado, Minas Gerais, Sul de Minas, Paraná

Climate

Subtropical climate with mild winters and

warm to hot summers

OUR COFFEES

FROM BRAZIL

CROP 2019

Touton Specialties GmbH

Große Bleichen 8

20354 Hamburg

phone: +49 (0) 40 334 693 100

fax: +49 (0) 40 334 693 199

  • Facebook - Weiß, Kreis,
  • LinkedIn - Weiß, Kreis,
  • Instagram - Weiß Kreis

BRASILIEN

Im Jahr 1727 soll Kaffee nach Brasilien gelangt sein. Die ersten Exporte sind zurückdatierbar auf die Jahre 1820 bis 1830. Schon damals war Brasilien für 30 Prozent der weltweiten Kaffeeproduktion verantwortlich, 100 Jahre später waren es schon 80 Prozent des Weltmarktes. Die darauffolgenden Jahre waren geprägt von der Weltwirtschaftskrise, die das Land besonders hart traf. Die Kaffeepreise fielen so sehr, dass das Land gezwungen war, 78 Millionen Kaffeesäcke zu verbrennen um die Preise zu stabilisieren. 

Mittlerweile dominiert Brasilien seit 150 Jahren den Kaffeemarkt. Als größter Kaffeeerzeuger der Welt kommt etwa ein Drittel der gesamten Weltproduktion aus Brasilien. Hier findet man viele große Kaffeeplantagen, die in anderen mittel- und südamerikanischen Ländern recht unüblich sind.

Generell gilt Brasilien als das fortschrittlichste und industrialisierteste Anbauland der Welt. Auch die Rückverfolgbarkeit ist in Brasilien vorwiegend gegeben. Vor allem qualitativ-hochwertige Kaffees lassen sich bis zur Farm zurückverfolgen. Im Erntejahr 2018/19 wurden insgesamt 60 Millionen 60kg Säcke Rohkaffee in Brasilien produziert. Knapp 38,5 Millionen Säcke wurden exportiert und der Rest wurde im Inland konsumiert.

 

Die wichtigsten Anbauregionen liegen in den Bundeststaaten Minas Gerais, Espirito Santo und Sao Paulo. Minas Gerais, das flächenmäßig fast so groß wie Frankreich ist, ist die größte Region. Aus dem Süden, Sul de Minas, wandern die Regionen zunehmend in den Norden, wo zum Beispiel seit vielen Jahren die Region Cerrado für hochwertig Rohkaffees steht.

Anbauhöhe

500m - 1200m

Erntezeit

Mai - September

Varietäten

Mundo Novo, Catuaí, Caturra​, Tupi, Rubi,

Yellow Bourbon

Bodenverhältnisse

Lehmboden

Anbauregionen

Cerrado, Minas Gerais, Sul de Minas, Paraná, Espirito Santo & Sao Paulo

Klima

Subtropisches Klima mit milden Wintern &

warmen bis heißen Sommern

UNSERE KAFFEES

AUS BRASILIEN

CROP 2019

Touton Specialties GmbH

Große Bleichen 8

20354 Hamburg

phone: +49 (0) 40 334 693 100

fax: +49 (0) 40 334 693 199

  • Facebook - Weiß, Kreis,
  • LinkedIn - Weiß, Kreis,
  • Instagram - Weiß Kreis