BAHO COFFEE

After 15 years of experience in the Rwandan specialty coffee industry, Emmanuel and his family made the decision to buy and set up their own washing stations. The location and specific management of each station shows itself in unique cup profiles. The Rusatira family developed their own grading system and is continuously experimenting with washed, honeys, and naturals. All year round they work together with local farmers to support them on the field, and financially, so as to produce the best coffee cherries in the region, and boost quality, year after year.

We have been closely working with Emmanuel over the past year and bought some outstanding qualities from four of his washing stations: Fugi, Muzo, Humure and Bugoyi. Muzo Washing Station is Emmanuel’s smallest but one of the best in terms of quality. He sees a great future for this washing station, where he will focus on very small lots with outstanding cup profiles. Emma leased the station for 10 years and eventually bought it in 2018. The volcanic soil and good rainfall in this region offer ideal growing conditions. The climate is cooler than in the western part of the country and allows a unique and slow drying, creating a juicy, sweet and round cup profile.

Emmanuel supports farmers with access to fertilizers, helps them to check the condition of their trees and shares valuable knowledge about best farmer practices. Furthermore, he supports the farmers by covering their social insurance and giving them second payments at the end of the crop.  

 

At Bugoyi Washing Station Emmanuel works with 1800 farmers, 80% of them are women. At this washing station he works with a new fermentation technique using traditional brewing pots called "Intango". The cherries are placed in the pots and mixed with water. The added water comes from the depulper and contains a high sugar level due to the mucilage of the cherries. The cherries stay in this pot for 120 hours. The fermentation process is slower and more controllable because the clay material of the pots does not absorb heat thus the cherries in the pots remain cool.
Emma is also experimenting with anaerobic processing. The cup profile differs depending on the conditions. Wet processing creates a livelier cup profile, while dry processing is more intense. After the coffee is fermented for 100 hours, the beans are spread on drying beds and turned every two hours. The beans are dried slowly by being protected from direct sunlight during the first five days.

OUR COFFEES

FROM RWANDA

CROP 2019

Touton Specialties GmbH

Große Bleichen 8

20354 Hamburg

phone: +49 (0) 40 334 693 100

fax: +49 (0) 40 334 693 199

  • Facebook - Weiß, Kreis,
  • LinkedIn - Weiß, Kreis,
  • Instagram - Weiß Kreis

BAHO COFFEE

Nach 15 Jahren Erfahrung in der ruandischen Spezialitätenkaffee-Branche entschied sich Emmanuel für den Kauf, die Entwicklung und den Aufbau eigener Washing Stations. Der Standort und das Management jeder einzelnen Washing Station zeigt sich in einzigartigen Tassenprofilen. Die Rusatira-Familie entwickelte ihr eigenes Grading System und experimentiert leidenschaftlich mit Fully Washed, Honeys und Naturals. Das ganze Jahr über arbeiten sie eng mit Farmern zusammen und unterstützen sie auf dem Feld sowie finanziell, um die Qualität der Kirschen Jahr für Jahr zu steigern.

 

Im vergangenen Jahr haben wir eng mit Emmanuel zusammengearbeitet und hervorragende Qualitäten von vier seiner Washing Stations gekauft: Fugi, Muzo, Humure und Bugoyi. Die Muzo Washing Station ist die kleinste, aber eine der besten in Bezug auf Qualität. Dort konzentriert sich Emmanuel auf kleine Mengen mit ausgezeichneten Tassenprofilen. 10 Jahre lang wurde die Washing Station geleast bis Emma sie 2018 kaufte. Die vulkanischen Böden und die guten Niederschläge in der Region schaffen ideale Anbaubedingungen. Das Klima ist kühler als im Westen des Landes und ermöglicht ein langsames Trocknen und langsame Fermentation, wodurch ein saftiges, süßes und rundes Tassenprofil entsteht.

Emmanuel unterstützt seine Farmer mit Düngemittel, hilft ihnen bei der Überprüfung der Kaffeebäume (mit Hilfe von Agronomen in jeder Washing Station) und teilt wertvolles Wissen über Anbaupraktiken mit ihnen. Darüber hinaus unterstützt er sie, indem er ihre Sozialversicherung übernimmt und ihnen die Möglichkeit zusätzlicher Zahlungen gibt, die sich am Erfolg der Ernte bemessen.

In der Bugoyi Washing Station arbeitet Emmanuel mit 1800 Farmern, wovon 80% Frauen sind. Hier experimentiert er mit einer neuen Fermentationstechnik, bei der traditionelle Brühtöpfe namens "Intango" eingesetzt werden. Die Kirschen werden mit Wasser gemischt und fermentieren für 120 Stunden. Das hinzugefügte Wasser kommt aus dem Depulper und enthält einen hohen Zuckerspiegel aufgrund der Mucilage der Kirschen. Der Fermentationsprozess ist langsamer und kontrollierbarer, da das Tonmaterial der Töpfe keine Wärme aufnimmt.

Außerdem experimentiert Emma mit Anaerobic-Aufbereitung. Die Nass-Aufbereitung erzeugt ein lebendigeres Tassenprofil, während die Trockenaufbereitung intensiver ist. Nachdem der Kaffee 100 Stunden fermentiert, werden die Bohnen auf Trockenbetten verteilt und alle zwei Stunden gewendet.

UNSERE KAFFEES

AUS RUANDA

CROP 2019

Touton Specialties GmbH

Große Bleichen 8

20354 Hamburg

phone: +49 (0) 40 334 693 100

fax: +49 (0) 40 334 693 199

  • Facebook - Weiß, Kreis,
  • LinkedIn - Weiß, Kreis,
  • Instagram - Weiß Kreis