RWANDA

COFFEE PROJECT

FUGI | FULLY WASHED | GRADE A1

Fugi Washing Station is located in the southern province of Nyaruguru District. Emmanuel Rusatira and his family have been processing washed, honeys and naturals since 2017. During the fully-washed process, the cherries are sorted by maturity level in water basins. The coffee is pulped, fermented for ten to twelve hours and then washed. On drying beds, the beans are then sorted according to defects and dried in direct sunlight until a moisture level of 12.5% ​​is reached.

One of the biggest environmental challenges at Fugi Washing Station is that farmers use the unprocessed cherry pulp as fertilizer. Due to the high chemical composition of coffee pulp (presence of bacteria, fungi and yeast & acidic pH level) the direct application of fresh cherry pulp on farms has negative impacts on soil organisms and the surrounding environment. This leads to declining soil nutrition, resulting in decreased productivity and quality.

In addition, the poor waste management of coffee pulp can disrupt the cleanliness of the process at washing station level.


Tackling this challenge became a priority for both us and Emmanuel, owner of Fugi WS, and led us to the decision to set up the first organic vermicompost facility at Fugi Washing Station. A process including earthworms, allowing a twice as fast decomposition compared to traditional mineral fertilizer. Vermicomposting is a great environmental practice as it allows the return of organic matter to the soil without harming the environment.

 

Each bag sold of our Fugi Grade A1 (P10310) will raise a total of 1€/kg for the "TRANSFORMING THE ENVIRONMENT" project. 50% of the premium (0.50 €/kg) will be financed by the buyers, the other half by Touton Specialties.

IMG_20180502_105846
IMG_20180502_153041
IMG_20180410_132158
E8CF7243-D81D-4CB5-B71F-C7CF1414880C
67909691-205E-49A2-AF69-702797E344C3
IMG_20180502_152914
IMG_20180511_075338
IMG_20180502_105846
IMG_20180502_153041
IMG_20180410_132158
E8CF7243-D81D-4CB5-B71F-C7CF1414880C
67909691-205E-49A2-AF69-702797E344C3
IMG_20180502_152914
IMG_20180511_075338

GROWING REGION

Country Rwanda

Region Nyaruguru District

Washing Station Fugi Washing Station

Producer Emmanuel Rusatira

Exporter Baho Coffee

QUALITY

Coffee type Arabica

Quality Grade A1, Scr. 15+

Crop 2019

Harvest time April - June

Harvest method Picking

Altitude 1750m

Variety Red Bourbon

Processing Fully-washed

Soil type Sandy clay

Irrigation Natural rainfall

Ref. No. P10310

CUP PROFILE

almond | vanilla | white nougat | coffee blossom | lemongrass | green tea | sweet | peach 

Touton Specialties GmbH

Große Bleichen 8

20354 Hamburg

phone: +49 (0) 40 334 693 100

fax: +49 (0) 40 334 693 199

  • Facebook - Weiß, Kreis,
  • LinkedIn - Weiß, Kreis,
  • Instagram - Weiß Kreis

RUANDA

PROJEKTKAFFEE

FUGI | FULLY WASHED | GRADE A1

Die Fugi Washing Station befindet sich in der südlichen Provinz Nyaruguru District und gehört zu unserem Partner Baho Coffee. Dort bereiten Emmanuel Rusatira und seine Familie seit 2017 Fully Washed, Honeys und Naturals auf. Bei der Fully-Washed Aufbereitung werden die Kirschen zunächst in Wasserbecken nach Reifegrad sortiert. Der Kaffee wird gepulped, für zehn bis zwölf Stunden fermentiert und anschließend gewaschen. Auf Trockenbetten werden die Bohnen dann nach Defekten sortiert und so lange im direkten Sonnenlicht getrocknet, bis ein Feuchtigkeitsgrad von 12,5% erreicht ist.

Eine der größten ökologischen Herausforderungen auf der Fugi Washing Station besteht darin, dass Farmer die unverarbeitete Pulpe der Kirschen als Düngemittel verwenden. Aufgrund der hohen chemischen Bestandteile der Kaffeepulpe (Bakterien, Pilze, Hefe & hoher pH-Wert) wirkt sich die Verwendung auf den Farmen negativ auf die Bodenorganismen aus und zerstört die natürlichen Ressourcen. Darüber hinaus kann die schlechte

Abfallbehandlung von Kaffeepulpe die Hygiene der Prozesse auf Washing Station-Ebene beeinträchtigen.

 

Diese Herausforderung anzugehen wurde sowohl für uns als auch für Emmanuel, Inhaber der Fugi WS, immer wichtiger und führte zu dem Entschluss, die erste biologische Vermicompost-Anlage auf der Fugi Washing Station einzurichten. Ein Prozess, bei dem Regenwürmer für den Abbau der Kaffeepulpe eingesetzt werden und im Vergleich zum traditionellen, mineralischen Dünger nur die Hälfte der Zeit benötigt. Vermicomposting ist eine gute ökologische Praxis, da es die Rückführung organischer Stoffe in den Boden ermöglicht, ohne die Umwelt zu beeinträchtigen.

 

Von jedem verkauften Sack unseres Fugi Grade A1 (P10310) geht insgesamt 1 €/kg direkt an das „TRANSFORMING THE ENVIRONMENT” Projekt. 50% der Prämie (0,50 €/ kg) werden von den Käufern finanziert, die andere Hälfte von Touton Specialties.

IMG_20180502_105846
IMG_20180502_153041
IMG_20180410_132158
E8CF7243-D81D-4CB5-B71F-C7CF1414880C
67909691-205E-49A2-AF69-702797E344C3
IMG_20180502_152914
IMG_20180511_075338
IMG_20180502_105846
IMG_20180502_153041
IMG_20180410_132158
E8CF7243-D81D-4CB5-B71F-C7CF1414880C
67909691-205E-49A2-AF69-702797E344C3
IMG_20180502_152914
IMG_20180511_075338

ANBAUGEBIET

Land Ruanda

Region Nyaruguru District

Washing Station Fugi Washing Station

Produzent Emmanuel Rusatira

Exporteur Baho Coffee

QUALITÄT

Kaffeeart Arabica

Qualität Grade A1, Scr. 15+

Erntejahr 2019

Erntezeit April - Juni

Ernteart Handernte “Picking”

Höhenlage 1750m

Varietät Red Bourbon

Aufbereitung Fully-washed

Bodenverhältnisse Sandiger Lehmboden

Bewässerung Natürlicher Regenfall

Ref. Nr. P10310

TASSENPROFIL

Mandel | Vanille | weißer Nougat | Kaffeeblüte | Zitronengras | grüner Tee | süß | Pfirsich 

Touton Specialties GmbH

Große Bleichen 8

20354 Hamburg

phone: +49 (0) 40 334 693 100

fax: +49 (0) 40 334 693 199

  • Facebook - Weiß, Kreis,
  • LinkedIn - Weiß, Kreis,
  • Instagram - Weiß Kreis